ON AIR: +256781517228 | +256752988955  |  DOWNLOAD OUR APP

Face Mask Wearing Made Mandatory

In an attempt to slow down the spread of the novel coronavirus, an increasing number of countries have made wearing face masks mandatory in public spaces, with citizens facing a possible fine if caught without one.

Similarly, the government of Uganda has joined many countries by making the wearing of face masks mandatory.

While addressing the nation on Monday, May 5, at Nakasero State House, President Museveni announced that every individual should put on a face mask while in public in order to stem the spread of the novel coronavirus.

On April 9, When Cameroon imposed masks for people leaving their homes, a dozen more African countries followed suit soon after. They are; Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, Kenya,
Liberia, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, and Zambia.

Uganda has a total number of 97 confirmed cases with 55 recoveries. No death has been confirmed yet.